top of page
Search

Movement and Mr. Gaga.

Updated: May 31, 2019

One of our Movement Brooklyn members, Stacy, recommended this film to me last week: Mr Gaga: A True Story of Love and Dance.



I admit that I know very little about modern dance, as my formal experience with it has been minimal. Many people I've crossed paths with from the dance world have talked about Gaga, and I've even heard a number of you at MB talk about it.


I've always felt that the work we do is more closely aligned with what I see in dance, martial arts, and counter culture sports than anything I see in the fitness sphere. This film speaks to that feeling. Look at the shapes, how they move, the way they interact with the floor and other bodies, and the quality of the movement. Look for the similarities in our practice and the application of the tools we are trying to create.


We aren't working on fitness. Fitness is a byproduct of movement. Gaga is very similar to Brazilian jiu-jitsu; much more so than it is to Pure Barre. And, we are more closely aligned to Gaga and Brazilian jiu-jitsu than we are to Crossfit.


You can watch the film on Netflix.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page